Quinoa Enchilada Casserole

quinoabake Quinoa, it’s the new super food.  Or old super food.  I put a wee little bit of adobe pepper in mine because a.) I’m stupid and made a mistake once that worked out okay and b.) I like it a little spicy but not too much.  I’m getting old and so is my digestive system.

This is not a one pot meal but maybe just a pot and a baking dish if you’re really careful and neat.  I’m not.  I think I had enchilada sauce on the ceiling, on the cat and on the neighbor lady.

The recipe calls for avocado.  I don’t like avocado but you probably do so go ahead and add it.

Quinoa Enchilada Casserole

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 (10 oz.) can of enchilada sauce or homemade version (much, much better) here.
  • 1 (4.5 oz.) can of green chiles, drained
  • 1 cup of corn (frozen, canned or roasted)
  • 1 can black beans or pinto beans. Rinse. (Pinto beans are better but YMMV)
  • 2 tbsp cilantro (we use frozen.  You can use fresh if you’re adventurous)
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1 avocado, diced (if you really want)
  • 1 tomato diced

 

  1.  In a large saucepan cook quinoa according to package directions.  Generally it’s 2 cups of water to 1 cup of quinoa. Set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 375°.  Lightly grease an 8×8 or 2 qt. baking dish or coat with nonstick spray.
  3. I a large bow, coming quinoa, enchilada sauce, green chiles, corn, beans, cilantro, cumin and chili powder.  Stir in 1/2 cup of cheddar and 1/2 mozzarella.
  4. Spread quinoa mixture into the prepared baking dish, top with remaining cheese.  Place into oven and bake until bubbly and cheese has melted.  About 15 minutes.
  5. Serve immediately, garnish with avocado (if you must).  Also add tomato.

Original